Flashback Friday: Best Friends Do This

When I lived in Hawaii and was serving a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, 4 years ago, letters from home were more precious than anything.  As anyone who served a mission or abroad in some other service can attest to, true friends really rise to the surface in that sort of scenario.  You know who they are because they write you letters.  So, you can imagine my pleasure when I opened a little package in the mail and saw that Bayba made this with scissors and glue from a cut-out of a magazine because the quote “made her think of me.” 

It’s a great quote to live by! (Of course it reminded her of me…)

Ever the faithful friend, “Staunch” if you will, every time I look at it –as it still is on display in my house– I think of the miracle of being BFF’s with Bayba.  In the past 10 years, we have only lived in the same place for about 3 of those years, but nothing has changed one bit.  It also makes me think of two qualities that are connected with true best friends:

  1. They make you things.  (If they are not artistic, they make you laugh)
  2. They are staunch.  (not to be confused with raunchy, it’s actually the best compliment ever!)

staunch/stônCH/

Adjective:
  1. Loyal and committed in attitude:  “a staunch supporter of the antinuclear lobby”;  “a staunch Catholic”.
  2. (of a wall) Of strong or firm construction.

Through the thick and thinner times of my life (and trust me, there have been some whispy-thin times, and not in the fashionable way) she has been consistently awesome, non-judgmental, and basically made me feel like the most normal and interesting person on the planet.  I have other friends who are equally wonderful and uplifting, and they share the same excellent qualities, and I am super thankful for them too.  But today, I’m giving Bayba a shout-out!  Homegirl is probably entertaining two screaming toddlers at the moment, and is “heavy with child”, so here’s to you Bayba!  Have a super good one!

Love,

Jones

Update: When I publish posts on wordpress (this is a wordpress blog) little quotes come up in the corner every time.  This is the quote that came up today:

“To send a letter is a good way to go somewhere without moving anything but your heart.” –Phyllis Theroux

Coincidence? I think not.

Leave a Reply

