Anthro Pillow Results…

The Final Outcome of my Anthropologie Pillow Knock-off?

FAIL!

Okay, so maybe I’m being a bit dramatic.

“C-” is more like it.

One thing that my friend Camille (a professional, talented seamstress) says on a regular basis is that she has an entire attic filled with sewing fails.  Good to bear in mind when considering the results of this well-intentioned project.  Even my husband admitted (after I told him I didn’t like it) that he didn’t like it at all from the start.  I think it was a good idea, but I used the wrong fabric, for starters.  I mean, it is functional, I can stand it enough to keep it around, but it doesn’t have any punch to it.  So much for repurposing that old short-sleve sweater from Target that I never wear!  Now I have a pillow that I never want to look at!

Anthropologie version

For those of you who think my dislike is unwarranted, and that it is actually an OK decoration, or who happens to like this pillow concept, here are my suggestions for making A BETTER VERSION on your own:

  • Use a fabric (or variety) that does not stretch or pull
  • Use interesting fabric (like the original) instead of monochromatic
  • Make a pattern before you start (I cut as I went along) using a brown paper bag
  • Sew by hand for better results (it is difficult to make so many quick turns on the sewing machine)…it may take longer, but it will have a more quality look about it when finally completed.

On a more positive note, at least I like the material on the back, so that I can just turn it around when I’m tired of looking at it on my couch!

And, I think the piping turned out cute as well.

Oh well.  Better luck next time, right!

-Jones

2 responses to “Anthro Pillow Results…

  1. C+. You learned from it and will make a better one. Cute idea! My boys just demolished both of my throw pillows… as in stuffing falling out. So maybe I’ll give this one a go. Thanks for the tips.

Leave a Reply

