Flashback Friday: Fun. Fun. Fun.

About 4-6 years ago, I got a little ipod for christmas.  A short time after uploading my favorite songs,  my computer crashed and I lost all my music.  This little machine is the only record I have left of these favorite songs from that era, and up until a month ago, (when Brigham found it and brought it back to life with our iphone charger) I thought it was dead and destined for the trash.

Thankfully, I didn’t throw it away!  So much nostalgia in there!

Anyway, I’ve been listening to it a lot in the past couple of days…and I remembered this band and this song that I swear, I’ve listened to about 10,000 times and never get tired of.

Play. Now.

Ahh.  Such a great song!

[It particularly brings me back to the days of making trips up to LA to hang with Amy, Gage and USC friends.]

But, turns out, the Format broke my heart in 2008 when I read this on their website:

“We have just put out word that we will not be making a new Format album. Please understand this was a tough decision and we’re both upset about it…we want to thank the fans who made this the best 5 years of our lives. – Nate”

Fast forward to about a month ago (same time we busted out the ol’ ipod, mind you) I was driving to work and heard this song on the alternative radio station, from an old familiar voice, and my heart just raced!  Since I have now memorized the lyrics, I just scream them at the top of my lungs shamelessly, because I love it that much that this old favorite band of mine reincarnated.

The Format is now Fun.

And even though I do prefer the former, oldschool ensamble, part of me cheers the this talented, albeit a little weird musician just didn’t give up.

(P.S. For Pandora users, “Fun.” is a really really awesome station with great variety- I highly recommend adding it!)

-Jones

Leave a Reply

