Musical Sketch

I’ll be completely honest, it’s been about 6 years since the last time I pulled out a sketchbook and a drawing pencil, so I wasn’t sure how this attempt would work out to bust out the ol’ art skills.

Apparently, I was successful in impressing my husband, who gave me that deer-in-headlights “WOW, you can draw?!!!” totally stunned response.  Yep, although we went to college together and he knew I was an art major, he was genuinely floored that I had unearthed a forsaken talent.

Brigham was at school practicing all day on Saturday, so I took it upon myself to pull out one of the 7 musical instruments currently living in my apartment, and just take a stab at drawing it.  Yeah, you read that right, we have 7 instruments: guitar, piano keyboard, flute, viola, trumpet, sax, and lets not forget the recorder (that thing you played in 4th grade).  Why, you may ask?  Brigham actually had more instruments up until a month ago (we used to have a trombone and clarinet too) until he returned them, but for one of his majors (Music Ed) he has to prove that he can proficiently play each one, get tested, and then return all of them when he proves he can.

Since he is graduating this summer, I have a deadline if I want to draw any of these.

Anyway, I digress.  In my head, I imagine myself doing a pen & ink line drawing, and then manipulating it with cool colors and patterns on photoshop/illustrator. Eventually, that will probably happen.  I’d really love to draw every single instrument a couple of times from different vantage points and then carve them out on linoleum and do prints and mixed medias from original artwork.  Maybe later this year.  For now, this is what I had time to do.

Forgive the smudges, and not totally accurate perspective.  I’m a little rusty.

-Jones

2 responses to “Musical Sketch

  1. Looks great! I’ve always wanted to be able draw, but I am not talented in that department. I can’t wait to see what else you do!

Leave a Reply

